ACT Government

The Australian Capital Territory was granted self-government in 1988 with the first Legislative Assembly for the Australian Capital Territory coming into being in 1989. Before self-government, the ACT was administered by the Federal Parliament. There are 25 Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs). Members are elected every four years by the people of the ACT to represent them and make decisions on their behalf. The ACT Government has responsibility for state/territory functions such as health, education and the administration of justice as well as local government functions such as roads, libraries and waste collection.To manage these responsibilities, the ACT Public Service is divided into seven directorates:

Chief Minister, Treasury and Economic Development Directorate
Community Services Directorate
Education Directorate
Environment, Planning and Sustainable Development Directorate
Health Directorate
Justice and Community Safety Directorate
Transport Canberra and City Services

ACT Government Directory

The Directory provides a guide to key people, organisations, functions undertaken and services delivered in the ACT Government.